Time Machine Tuesday: Governor Lamm’s Executive Orders

Colorado governors’ executive orders are divided into three categories:  1) A Orders, which appoint individuals to boards and commissions, judges, and other political appointments; 2) B Orders, which establish new boards, commissions, councils, and task forces; and 3) D Orders, which contain state government policies and organization changes as well as disaster declarations and mobilization of the Colorado National Guard.

Our library has digitized the B Orders and D Orders from the Lamm administration (1975-1987) and they are now available online.  (Digitization of the A Orders is currently in process).  View Governor Lamm’s Executive Orders to learn about major flooding in the mountains and on the Western Slope; energy conservation; a 1981 tornado in metro Denver; access to public records; state employee benefits; mapping the state; and much more.