Colorado’s Conservation Districts

Did you know that Colorado has seventy-six Conservation Districts? Nearly every part of the state falls under one of these districts. Overseen by the Colorado Department of Agriculture’s State Conservation Board, the districts were established in 1937 to “represent private landowners’ interests in conservation planning and practices.” According to the agriculture department’s website,

The Colorado State Conservation Board (CSCB) is comprised of Conservation District representatives from Colorado’s 10 watersheds and provides guidance to the Department of Agriculture for:

    • Dispersing state grant funds and direct assistance to the Conservation Districts


    • Developing training tools for long and short term planning, budgeting, and laws pertaining to local governance


    • Performing as a board of appeals for landowners appealing Conservation District activities


  • Facilitating local conservation programs that improve soil health, water quality, water conservation, wildlife habitat, forest health, plant communities and energy conservation.

Check out the website for more information, including the online Conservation District Reference ManualOur library also has cataloged profiles of several individual Conservation Districts: